"Tools for Increasing Efficiency, Impact, and Utility of Teacher Feedback"

Description: Language instructors are always busy with planning lessons, creating and grading assignments and exams. We know that giving regular, individualized feedback to students is important, but we never seem to have enough time. In this webinar, we will learn about tools that can help us provide individualized feedback more efficiently inside and outside of the classroom, such as using AutoText feature in Word to save time on commenting and using OneNote to save time on monitoring students’ work in the classroom. We will also explore tools we can use to hold students accountable for checking our feedback (e.g., activity completion settings in LMS or file viewing analytics) or for addressing our feedback (e.g., Compare feature in Word). Finally, we will discuss how we can use the common trouble spots we identify from students’ work as feedback on our teaching and utilize it as a resource by building a feedback bank. 

Audience: World language instructors who incorporate formal writing assignments in their classes. The webinar will be in English. 

Presenter: Jin Pennell is a Lecturer and Curriculum Coordinator at the ESL Writing Program in the Department of Linguistics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. In addition to teaching, she oversees curriculum development projects, conduct curriculum evaluations, and coordinate development of course syllabi and assignments for ESL Writing Services courses at UIUC. Before coming to UIUC, she taught EFL at a public school in South Korea.

Date: Wednesday March 27, 2019 

Time: 5:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm Central / 2:00pm Pacific

Duration: 1 hour (40-minute presentation, followed by 20 minutes for Q&A)  

Registration is required - Please register here: https://forms.illinois.edu/sec/2267509 <https://forms.illinois.edu/sec/2267509