Dear colleagues,

The Center for Language Instruction and Coordination (CLIC) at the University of Illinois has several online professional development events coming up, and we would greatly appreciate your help sharing this information with your colleagues. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to email me: henshaw2@illinois.edu <mailto:henshaw2@illinois.edu> . 

All of these events are FREE, online, and open to all language educators (grad students, teachers, faculty, student-teachers, etc.):

1. Webinar: "Video chatting with native speakers: Why, What, and How"

Participants will learn about the advantages and limitations of different available platforms that help to connect students with native speakers around the world, as well as best practices for integrating videoconferencing with native speakers in the language classroom at various proficiency levels.

Presenter: Dr. Florencia Henshaw (Director of Advanced Spanish & Director of CLIC at UIUC)
Date: Thursday, October 18, 2018
Time: 6:30pm Eastern / 5:30pm Central / 3:30pm Pacific
Duration: 1 hour

For more information and to register, please go to: https://forms.illinois.edu/sec/6672356 <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=http-3A__www.aausc.org_EmailTracker_LinkTracker.ashx-3FlinkAndRecipientCode-3DC4G56KeP4nMDqKWb0acBoi2F1NIOVRq8v8AuIREIlsW0Cps6w2nsejCLawMnSBkkvmkfSCSuCWjWEhxWDA1pI3xNLaz37GLZpMEJzUQA3ZU-253d&d=DwMFaQ&c=OCIEmEwdEq_aNlsP4fF3gFqSN-E3mlr2t9JcDdfOZag&r=fZOuMR0nPNgPz1cOiqG4odz-_YOVJRbzYbcIQSBEOPM&m=QxWar_W1HB3-NH2oBDeP7NI-r1fE0lRSTX6wEvkCD-s&s=ESq6CD13VCkzAambz5-G2A6ZL09GWG56-cZxRbU_RLU&e=>  


2. Virtual Q&A with Prof. Ann Abbott (Director of Undergraduate Studies and Associate Professor of Spanish at UIUC) 

Dr. Ann Abbott will be answering participants’ questions about community service learning, Languages for Specific Purposes, integrating social justice in basic language courses, teaching and assessing intercultural competence, etc.

Date: Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Time: 5:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm Central / 2:00pm Pacific
Duration: 1 hour (the entire hour will be dedicated to questions) 

For more information and to register, please go to: https://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8600360 <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=http-3A__www.aausc.org_EmailTracker_LinkTracker.ashx-3FlinkAndRecipientCode-3DAfNZMjkdGcX4Atkb1QovSYjQBcpctabG8-252flsRbLO6UTT99itR9Ur2Y4dUxtw3Xp0haWf4H2hkSEq2fAoj2hU18SXmL0EincRgXnkFvPqAuk-253d&d=DwMFaQ&c=OCIEmEwdEq_aNlsP4fF3gFqSN-E3mlr2t9JcDdfOZag&r=fZOuMR0nPNgPz1cOiqG4odz-_YOVJRbzYbcIQSBEOPM&m=QxWar_W1HB3-NH2oBDeP7NI-r1fE0lRSTX6wEvkCD-s&s=bE0ltsx6VFvq2RxLW5Y4W9wZ_4QTuxYjAd2uW4NvC7k&e=

3. Virtual Q&A with Prof. Kim Potowski (Professor of Hispanic linguistics and Director of the Heritage Language Program at UIC) 

Dr. Kim Potowski will be answering participants' questions related to bilingualism, dual immersion, heritage language teaching, minority language development/maintenance, language & identity, etc. 

Date: Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Time: 5:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm Central / 2:00pm Pacific
Duration: 1 hour (the entire hour will be dedicated to questions)

For the full description and to register, please go to:   https://forms.illinois.edu/sec/1167654 <https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=http-3A__www.aausc.org_EmailTracker_LinkTracker.ashx-3FlinkAndRecipientCode-3DKwAMgqmyuAowYwydtxalxOmaeyrl6aVkJoSgOtDDqUeqoepbud9fl4Yjf8lVngJymbkuhSg3RuC8EZDQNcV1weZ-252fy7o4kGjfFBe95FH4E-252b0-253d&d=DwMFaQ&c=OCIEmEwdEq_aNlsP4fF3gFqSN-E3mlr2t9JcDdfOZag&r=fZOuMR0nPNgPz1cOiqG4odz-_YOVJRbzYbcIQSBEOPM&m=QxWar_W1HB3-NH2oBDeP7NI-r1fE0lRSTX6wEvkCD-s&s=A3tK21P1nUCh4iCFNk9QVnaXxLNwSsBEj3Aa21NwJaw&e=>